Themes From Great Cities

It might have come to your attention that I'm not a regular poster of love and understanding, which you will just have to get used to. I will however, have bursts of creativity where I move completely randomly from post to post with no rhyme or reason. I have recently posted a few singles (7 & 12”) and the odd bootleg which have been received very well by all who visit. More of the same will continue as you, dear readers, seem to be enjoying them.

Some of the rips are my own, but many more are from other blogs and I’m just sharing the wealth. If other bloggers out there wish to share the rips from my posts, please as I do, host them yourself. To combat this, the FLAC files that are over 6 months old will be replaced with MP3 files.

Finally I am happy to re-up old posts where the link has expired. Please comment in the relevant posts comments box.


Missing In Action

Waiting for a Miracle is a sorcerous first album; at least once it sinks in, after short-to-long phases of puzzlement, bemusement, and fascination. Its songs of romantic ruin, paranoia, and doubt are spare, inelastic, and ceaselessly on edge. Even when the songs are at their bounciest and most alluring, they have an insular and alien quality. The instruments are played with intrepid simplicity, but when they're heard as one, they sound peculiar and complex albeit with insidious lyrical hooks that are innocuous to the eye and startling to the ear, like "This is total war, girl," "Sometimes I feel out of control," and "I can't relax 'cause I haven't done a thing and I can't do a thing 'cause I can't relax."
Acting as something like a minimalist garage band with one foot in the past and the other in the future, with Andy Peake's memory-triggering organ bleats offset by structural abnormalities and twists, the band does come across as a little timid from time to time, unsure of how far to take its uniqueness, but it's only another factor that fosters the album's insistent nerviness. "Total War," a razor-sharp examination of a relationship snapping under the pressure of buried mutual contempt, threatens to stop as often as it appears to be on the verge of taking off, carries a circular arrangement, and provides no release. It was the album's "other" single, nearly as conventions-stripped as PiL's more venomous "Flowers of Romance" (released the following year).
"Independence Day," on the other hand, gave the band its greatest commercial success, wrapping all the band's strengths in one concise package, from the brilliantly paced shifts between the sparse and the dense to the balance between the direct and the indirect. Apart from the barren, ominous kiss-off that is "Postcard," each of the remaining songs sound like singles, even if they never had a chance at putting the band on Top of the Pops. (This is a band that called itself "doomsteady" with a hint of seriousness, after all.)
While there are crucial differences that reveal themselves after deep listening, this album can be appreciated by anyone touched by other maverick post-punk albums released the same year, such as Joy Division's Closer, Associates' The Affectionate Punch, Magazine's The Correct Use of Soap, The Sound's Jeopardy, and Simple Minds' Empires and Dance.
Often overlooked, Waiting For A Miracle deserves to be up there alongside Wire’s ‘154’, The Cure’s ‘Seventeen Seconds’, The Gang Of Four's 'Entertainment' and Joy Division’s ‘Unknown Pleasures’….In those murky, post-punk days, many chose the solemn, Joy Division style path, whilst others, like The Comsat Angels chose a more optimistic route and held out for their own miracle. For that reason alone, surely they are to be applauded, for bringing light to those dark, dark days.

Taken from the now completely deleted 1995 reissue to MP3 @ 320kbps and FLAC with the almost impossible to find 7” Do The Empty House as an additional MP3 bonus

The Comsat Angels; Waiting For A Miracle

1.      Missing In Action
2.      "Baby"
3.      Independence Day
4.      Waiting For A Miracle
5.      Total War
6.      On The Beach
7.      Monkey Pilot
8.      Real Story
9.      Map Of The World
10.   Postcard
11.   Home Is The Range
12.   We Were
13.   Ju Ju Money

Do The Empty House 7”

A.     Do The Empty House
B.     Now I Know
C.     Red Planet (Re-Visited)


  1. Great album by a great band.

    Here's hoping the third go round of reissues will raise their profile enough for the band to play a few more shows. The reunion show I saw in London 2009 was great.

    1. Yeah! Great band,who hopefully will do the honourable thing and play a few shows sometime early next year. Until those re-issues become available...I'll be adding the odd CS Angels album to the fray, but as soon as they are available these posts will be deleted