Themes From Great Cities

It might have come to your attention that I'm not a regular poster of love and understanding, which you will just have to get used to. I will however, have bursts of creativity where I move completely randomly from post to post with no rhyme or reason. I have recently posted a few singles (7 & 12”) and the odd bootleg which have been received very well by all who visit. More of the same will continue as you, dear readers, seem to be enjoying them.

Some of the rips are my own, but many more are from other blogs and I’m just sharing the wealth. If other bloggers out there wish to share the rips from my posts, please as I do, host them yourself. To combat this, the FLAC files that are over 6 months old will be replaced with MP3 files.

Finally I am happy to re-up old posts where the link has expired. Please comment in the relevant posts comments box.


Where The Hell Have You Been?

Inspired by psychedelia, sure. Bit of Jim Morrison in the vocals? OK, it's there. But for all the references and connections that can be drawn (and they can), one listen to The Bunnymen’s  brilliant, often harrowing debut album and it's clear when a unique, special band presents itself. Beginning with the dramatic, building climb of "Going Up," Crocodiles at once showcases four individual players sure of their own gifts and their ability to bring it all together to make things more than the sum of their parts. Will Sergeant in particular is a revelation (arguably only Johnny Marr and Vini Reilly were better English guitarists) with flavours of delicacy, shades, and inventive, unexpected melodies. More than many before or since, he plays the electric guitar as just that, electric not acoustic, dedicated to finding out what can be done with it while never using it as an excuse to bend frets. His highlights are legion, whether it's the hooky opening chime of "Rescue" or the exchanges of sound and silence in "Happy Death Men." Meanwhile, the Les Pattinson/Pete De Freitas rhythm section stakes its own claim for greatness, the former's bass driving yet almost seductive, the latter's percussion constantly shifting rhythms and styles while never leaving the central beat of the song to die. "Pride" is one standout moment of many, Les Pattinson's high notes and Pete De Freitas' interjections on what sound like chimes or blocks are inspired touches. Then there's McCulloch himself, and while the imagery can be cryptic, the delivery soars, even while his semi-wail conjures up, as on the nervy, edgy picture of addiction "Villiers Terrace," "People rolling round on the carpet/Mixing up the medicine." Brisk, wasting not a note, and burning with barely controlled energy, Crocodiles remains a deserved classic.

Together these four young men are electric. The dark melodies appearing on this album are crafted by a band who have an incredible amount of skill, combined with heaps of identity. You'll easily recognize a song by the Bunnymen. If you don't recognize the psychedelic, dramatic and at times jazzy rhythm, you'll recognize Will Sergeant's guitar. And even if you actually don't recognize the "Bunnymen sound" straight away, Ian McCulloch will come into the picture, doing his thing, and leave you with no doubt that this is the Bunnymen's sound. "Punky but slick".
To keep the theatrical sound company, there's Ian's lyrics. They're not only poisonous catchy pop tunes; they're also dramatic, creepy pieces of poetry, who insists on showing a sense of premonition and cleverness. But let’s be honest; does it really matter? Ian McCulloch could just as well be singing the Yellow Pages, and it would all still be very interesting. Why? Because his voice is so insecure, yet firm. He shouts and he whispers. He sings and he tells. It's all just so dramatic and atmospheric. McCulloch is basically one of a kind.
On tracks like "Going Up", "Crocodiles" and "Villiers Terrace" - we get a glimpse of greatness. This is admittedly one of the best British rock albums from the '80s. Crocodiles is combined with unbelievably catchy and well crafted melodies and lyrics. It's all that and a bag of chips... and all that jazz

Taken from the 25th Anniversary Edition from 2003 to MP3 @ 320kbps

01. Going Up
02. Stars Are Stars
03. Pride
04. Monkeys
05. Crocodiles
06. Rescue
07. Villiers Terrace
08. Pictures on My Wall
09. All That Jazz
10. Happy Death Men
Bonus Tracks
11. Do It Clean
12. Read It in Books
13. Simple Stuff
14. Villiers Terrace (Early Version)
15. Pride (Early Version)
16. Simple Stuff (Early Version)
17. Crocodiles (Live, Shine So Hard EP)
18. Zimbo (Live, Shine So Hard EP)
19. All That Jazz (Live, Shine So Hard EP)
20. Over the Wall (Live, Shine So Hard EP)

The Pictures On My Wall 7” (Zoo!)
01. The Pictures On My Wall
02. Read It In Books


  1. Cheers For The Client Singles

    1. You're welcome Aid. When there's someone as generous as you, it's only right to give something back.

  2. me i'm all smiles - i've got my crocodiles

    1. there's people rolling round on the carpet, mixing up the medicine