Themes From Great Cities

It might have come to your attention that I'm not a regular poster of love and understanding, which you will just have to get used to. I will however, have bursts of creativity where I move completely randomly from post to post with no rhyme or reason. I have recently posted a few singles (7 & 12”) and the odd bootleg which have been received very well by all who visit. More of the same will continue as you, dear readers, seem to be enjoying them.

Some of the rips are my own, but many more are from other blogs and I’m just sharing the wealth. If other bloggers out there wish to share the rips from my posts, please as I do, host them yourself. To combat this, the FLAC files that are over 6 months old will be replaced with MP3 files.

Finally I am happy to re-up old posts where the link has expired. Please comment in the relevant posts comments box.


Rest In Peace

“Rest In Peace” is a faithful recording of Bauhaus' last concert, played at the Hammersmith Palais in London on July 5, 1983, one week prior to the official release of Burning From The Inside and fifteen years before all four members would play together again. The show itself, although captured on tape, remained in the vaults for almost a decade, before it was finally released on two CDs in 1992; and the appropriate title “Rest In Peace” actually reproduces the words of David J, spoken at the very end of the show, once the final echoes of ʽBela Lugosiʼ have died down: most of the fans present, unaware of the band's suicidal plans, never figured out what that properly meant until it was too late. The large delay between recording and release is understandable: first, it seemed pointless at the time to put out two live albums in such a brief time interval, and second, the sound quality is highly questionable almost as if they were taping this as a personal memento rather than a potential commercial product or even historical document. Studio or live, Bauhaus is one of those bands that draws its power from atmosphere and sonic nuances rather than particular chord changes, so listening to a poor-sound-quality Bauhaus album falls in the same category as watching a black-and-white version of Snow White. For those who still have all the hits ringing and reverberating in their ears, subconscious will do the trick and restore the missing colours, but God forbid you ever fall upon “Rest In Peace” as your introduction to the band.

Ripped here to FLAC

Bauhaus; Rest In Peace (The Final Concert)

1.      (Intro) Satori
2.      Burning From The Inside
3.      In Fear Of Fear
4.      Terror Couple Kill Colonel
5.      The Spy In The Cab
6.      Kingdom’s Coming
7.      She’s In Parties
8.      Antonin Artaud
9.      King Volcano
10.   Passion Of Lovers
11.   Slice Of Life
12.   In Heaven
13.   Dancing
14.   Hollow Hills
15.   Stigmata Martyr
16.   Kick In The Eye
17.   Dark Entries
18.   Double Dare
19.   In The Flat Field
20.   Boys
21.   A God In An Alcove
22.   Hair Of The Dog
23.   Bela Lugosi’s Dead


No comments:

Post a Comment