Ad-Hoc Posting Schedule

Willkommen Leser, Down-Loader, Lurker und Teilnehmer alle.

It might have come to your notice that I'm not a regular poster of love and understanding, which you'll just kinda have to get used to. I will however, now and again, have bursts of creativity and if it was to please the massed hordes, who chose to visit this insignificant page, to supply some input on the direction and type of music you would like to sample (before going out and buying yourself a copy) this little communication will not have been in vain.

I will also say now that some of the outstanding music already available to sample will be reaching their 30 days without a click threshold, where by they're deleted by the host.

Many thanks for reading this far...and please feel free to interact.



Killing Joke repost

A quick repost of a classic album with added fringe benefits

Killing Joke are one of the most bulletproof post-punk bands still around. Releasing their first single in 1978, they were right there with Wire and Gang of Four as indisputable early pioneers of the genre. In an era of Cold War hostilities and Reaganomics the band's (dead serious) brand of apocalyptic beats and conspiracy-oriented lyrics hit home with an entire generation raised on imagery of impending destruction. "Nervous System" was a decent if inauspicious introduction to the band, essentially blending the choppy, jagged chords of Wire with the whiteboy reggae affectations that The Clash had become known for.
1980's "Wardance" was where it all came together: lead-fisted, martial beats combine with Geordie's own innovative guitar textures to set the template for things to come. "Requiem" goes much farther toward establishing a unique identity, the band dialling back the guitars and laying the keyboards on THICK with its endgame lyrical imagery and air raid synth patches. That such a bleak and furious album could have such a widespread influence is a testament to its importance. Certain parts of the album have not dated well; the vocals and drums are mixed in such a way that they lose some of their effectiveness, and the fact that so many other bands have used this same formula does take some of the visceral feeling away. At this point Jaz Coleman's vocal delivery was the primary point of differentiation between Killing Joke and their contemporaries, although the song writing was immediate enough that the aforementioned influences would have been proud to call these tunes their own. This is an underground classic and deserves better than its relative unknown status. Fans of most kinds of heavy music will probably find something they like about this band, and this is a good a place as any to start the collection.

Killing Joke taken from the 2005 remastered edition to FLAC and MP3 @ 320kbps

Killing Joke; Killing Joke
1.      Requiem
2.      Wardance
3.      Tomorrow’s World
4.      Bloodsport
5.      The Wait
6.      Complications
7.      SO36
8.      Primitive
9.      Change
10.   Requiem [Single Version]
11.   Change [Dub]
12.   Primitive [Rough Mix]
13.   Bloodsport [Rough Mix]

No comments:

Post a Comment