Themes From Great Cities

It might have come to your attention that I'm not a regular poster of love and understanding, which you will just have to get used to. I will however, have bursts of creativity where I move completely randomly from post to post with no rhyme or reason. I have recently posted a few singles (7 & 12”) and the odd bootleg which have been received very well by all who visit. More of the same will continue as you, dear readers, seem to be enjoying them.

Some of the rips are my own, but many more are from other blogs and I’m just sharing the wealth. If other bloggers out there wish to share the rips from my posts, please as I do, host them yourself. To combat this, the FLAC files that are over 6 months old will be replaced with MP3 files.

Finally I am happy to re-up old posts where the link has expired. Please comment in the relevant posts comments box.


Dressed To Kill

The band was formed in the toilets of the Wapping Anarchy Centre, established by the efforts of seminal Anarchist bands Crass and Poison Girls, in 1980. One week after forming Hagar the Womb played their first gig with Zounds and The Mob. The band were originally all-female in an attempt to add a female voice to what they saw as a male-dominated movement, and the band refused to conform to the stylistic constrictions associated with bands of the time.
The band toured the UK punk circuit for five years releasing two 12” singles and recording a Peel Session. Their first offering The Word of the Womb EP (released on Conflict’s Mortarhate label) dominated the UK Indie Chart during 1984.

Hagar the Womb were a female fronted, rather colourful and refreshing band, who wanted to have a little more fun than just shouting out the same gloomy political message that so many other bands of the time were doing. After being ignored and laughed at by those who ran the Wapping Anarchy Centre for trying to speak their minds and contributing ideas, several of the women decided to start a band so they could be taken more seriously. In London during 1980, Ruth, Karen, Amden and Nicola Corcoran all decided to become the vocalists, Janet Nassim became the guitarist and Stepth Cohen played the bass, while Andy Martin from The Apostles helped them by giving them a place to practice in and a drummer named Scarecrow. The band was offered their first gig at the Centre a week after forming. Coming up with a name that had no meaning, and playing a somewhat chaotic gig supporting The Mob and Zounds, Hagar The Womb cranked out early versions of "Dressed to Kill" and "Puff the Magic Dragon".
After several gigs, people began to take notice of the band; their lyrics, which were much more personal instead of always being about war and bombs; their clothes, which were more colourful and not uniform black like several "Crass clone" bands were doing. Instead of being anti-everything, the band were anti-labelling and tried to be wild. After recording their first demo, the track 'For The Ferryman' was taken to appear on  Mortarhate's 'Who? What? Why? When? Where' compilation. In 1984, Hagar The Womb released their debut 12” E.P. titled "Word of The Womb" on the Mortarhate label. It was engineered by Pete Fender from Rubella Ballet/Omega Tribe, at Heart and Souls Studios, Walthamstow in East London.

Ripped from a crackly and well worn 12” EP to MP3 @ 320kbps

Hagar The Womb; Word From The Womb 12”

1.     Idolization
2.     What’s Your Flag?
3.     Cardboard Theatre
4.     Dressed To Kill
5.     True Love And Faith
6.     Truth?


1 comment: