Themes From Great Cities

It might have come to your attention that I'm not a regular poster of love and understanding, which you will just have to get used to. I will however, have bursts of creativity where I move completely randomly from post to post with no rhyme or reason. I have recently posted a few singles (7 & 12”) and the odd bootleg which have been received very well by all who visit. More of the same will continue as you, dear readers, seem to be enjoying them.

Some of the rips are my own, but many more are from other blogs and I’m just sharing the wealth. If other bloggers out there wish to share the rips from my posts, please as I do, host them yourself. To combat this, the FLAC files that are over 6 months old will be replaced with MP3 files.

Finally I am happy to re-up old posts where the link has expired. Please comment in the relevant posts comments box.


All Hell Breaks Loose - Reupped

The Misfits' 1982 debut full-length, Walk Among Us, rapidly became a legendary effort of U.S. punk, the more so because it so wilfully violated so many rules which were already ironically straitjacketing the scene. Utterly devoid of political confrontation or social uplift, embracing a costume sense that might have given Kiss pause for thought and generally coming across like the horror-movie nightmares they looked like on the cover, The Misfits just wanted to entertain and do their own thing, and that they did, brilliantly. Nearly every song on the album (13 in total, delivered in a light-speed 25 minutes) is a twisted classic, with the band's trademark '50s/'60s melodies running through a punk/metal meat-grinder on full display. The higher-budget (in very relative terms) recording meant a slightly cleaner and brighter sound all around, but nothing about Walk Among Us is slick, especially in commercial 1982 terms. One song title says it all: "All Hell Breaks Loose."
Danzig's gift for creepy, strong, and attractively dark singing was long since established and he uses it brilliantly, making the over-the-top lyrics all the more enjoyable, while Doyle, Jerry Only and Arthur Googy kick out the jams on Danzig's songs big time, have a listen to "Hatebreeders," "Violent World," and the crazed "Skulls." Everything ends with the giddily ridiculous "Braineaters," in which the chanting voices of the band bemoan their constant diet of cerebella and ask for intestines instead, but the real freaked-out highlight comes smack dab in the middle with "Mommy Can I Go Out and Kill Tonight." Taken from the show that made up the Evilive release, it starts out on the edge and, after Danzig delivers the title sans instruments, turns into an explosion of rhythm and feedback that should have killed everything within 50 feet of the amps.
The Misfits energy on their "debut" is undeniable. I say "debut" because apart from their slew of 7 inches, by this point they had already recorded a couple of records that were lost and weren't released until much later (1980's "12 Hits From Hell"). The hypothetical inclusion of tracks like "Die Die My Darling", "American Nightmare", "Horror Hotel", and "Ghouls Night Out" wouldn't have hurt this record, since they were written around the same time (1980) as the songs on Walk Among Us. In fact, the latter two songs I mentioned appear on the lost "12 Hits" album. 

Shamelessly borrowed from “Albums That Never Were

What follows is a reconstruction of the unreleased 1980 debut album from The Misfits, 12 Hits From Hell, which was scrapped after guitarist Bobby Steele was replaced by Doyle Wolfgang von Frankenstein.  Some of the songs were instead released as 7” singles and the remaining tracks were used as a demo to secure a record deal and eventually re-recorded in 1982 as their seminal Walk Among Us.  Although 12 Hits From Hell was given a modern remix and remaster for a posthumous release in 2001, it was again vetoed and scrapped by vocalist Glenn Danzig and bassist Jerry Only because of errors in mastering, artwork and liner note credit.  This reconstruction ignores the posthumous 2001 remix and attempts to collect only authentic mixes to assemble how the album would have sounded in 1980.

For this reconstruction, we will focus solely on the original 1980 mixes of 12 Hits From Hell, for better or for worse; while admittedly the 2001 remix sounds stunning, it is not what The Misfits sounded like in 1980.  Luckily all the (presumably) vintage mixes are found on the 1996 Box Set in their best mastering, making our task extremely easy!  The track list will follow the planned 2001 12 Hits remaster, as the CD itself followed Danzig’s own handwritten track list from 1980, written on MSP Studios stationary.  The final touch is a cover design that borrows from the 3 Hits From Hell EP, an art concept that is as vintage as possible (also included is alternate cover art designed by Jon Hunt of idesignalbumcovers).  So without further delay, put on your make-up… it’s time for a double dose of early Halloween! 

Walk Among Us is taken from a CD reissue to glorious MP3 @ 320kbps

Track List

            A1. 20 Eyes
            A2. I Turned Into a Martian
            A3. All Hell Breaks Loose
            A4. Vampira
            A5. Nike a Go Go
            A6. Hate Breeders
            A7. Mommy, Can I Go Out & Kill Tonight (Live)
            B1. Night of the Living Dead
            B2. Skulls
            B3. Violent World
            B4. Devils Whorehouse
            B5. Astro Zombies
            B6. Braineaters

12 Hits From Hell is ripped to MP3 @ 320kbps

Track List

            1.  Halloween
            2.  Vampira
            3.  I Turned Into a Martian
            4.  Skulls
            5.  London Dungeon
            6.  Night of the Living Dead
            7.  Horror Hotel
            8.  Ghoul’s Night Out
            9.  Astro Zombies
            10.  Where Eagles Dare
            11.  Violent World


  1. -= Faith Healer =-22 December 2015 at 19:41

    Probably my favorite band of all time!!! I love everything they released (even the new stuff)!

    I never had the chance to see them live back in the early 80s, but I saw Danzig and Doyle play a Misfits set in the 90s. And I saw the "new" Misfits four times in the more recent years (with Black Flag drummer and guitarist).

    While their new album clearly suffer without Danzig's contribution, I will tell you that, contrary to popular belief, they INCREDIBLY AWESOME live. Jerry Only and co really put on a hell of a show, extremely loud and fast!


    1. Thanks for your comments Faith, unfortunately I've never had the opportunity to see the Misfits here. Walk Among Us was the only Misfits record I ever owned.

  2. Could yo please re-up these Misfit albums

    Many thanks

    1. I'm on holiday using free coffee shop wifi 😉 I'll re-up when I get home