Themes From Great Cities

It might have come to your attention that I'm not a regular poster of love and understanding, which you will just have to get used to. I will however, have bursts of creativity where I move completely randomly from post to post with no rhyme or reason. I have recently posted a few singles (7 & 12”) and the odd bootleg which have been received very well by all who visit. More of the same will continue as you, dear readers, seem to be enjoying them.

Some of the rips are my own, but many more are from other blogs and I’m just sharing the wealth. If other bloggers out there wish to share the rips from my posts, please as I do, host them yourself. To combat this, the FLAC files that are over 6 months old will be replaced with MP3 files.

Finally I am happy to re-up old posts where the link has expired. Please comment in the relevant posts comments box.



Strange to think that back in 1982, the bands in the scene that would later become known as 'Goth' were primarily fronted by shrill-voiced singers, playing spiky, up-tempo glam-punk tracks. The Sisters of Mercy are the ones responsible for the popularisation of the doomy synth n' deep voice combo, but I'll be damned if The Danse Society didn't create the sound for them to run away with. Even Eldritch was trying to pass of as a boisterous Bowie when this record was released. What kept this bunch in with the white-face n' cape crowd must have been keeping those deep, groovy post-punk basslines, and the almost tribal stuttering Sex Gang drum patterns. Steve Rawlings' almost emotionless baritone and the (marvellously named) Lyndon Scarfe's experimental synth tones set them apart. Ok, so the sound could be bordering on the po-faced at times, one can only presume the 'eerie' introduction to "Ambition" was written with the idea of trying to score a cheesy 80’s horror flick, but when they hit a groove, Goddamn, they were awesome.

Their star only burned briefly, but it burnt a scorching shadow, all the way from London to Leeds.

If all you’ve ever heard from The Danse Society was their excellent 1985 single “Say It Again,” congratulations! You and I have nothing in common.

It must be said that none of these songs sound anything like “Say It Again” so if you’re hoping for more of the same, Seduction: The Society Collection is not the album for you. However, if you’re looking for some insight into where The Danse Society came from, you’ve come to the right place. Seduction: The Society Collection is a compilation of the band’s 1982 album of the same name plus several early singles (1980 – 83), all originally released on their own independent imprint Society Records.
The songs on this album show off what made The Danse Society so unique: Tim Wright’s exquisitely heavy bass; Paul Gilmartin’s rapid-fire drumming; Paul Nash’s piercing, moody guitar; Lyndon Scarfe’s creepy keyboards; and Steve Rawling’s flat, almost sardonic vocals. While every song is great, my least favorites are the somewhat grating “We’re So Happy” with its draggy verses and the catchy but terribly corny “My Heart.” Yet the best songs on Seduction: The Society Collection are enjoyable enough to counteract the weakest tracks. “Woman’s Own” features a wonderfully creepy synth line and chanted vocals, while the Siouxsie and the Banshees-style bass line in “Belief” is outstanding, as are the clever, biting lyrics. Stark piano opens “In Heaven (Everything Is Fine)” and gives way to reverby guitar, occasional drumbeats, and quiet, sparse vocals, all of which coalesce into something akin to a longer, more emotive version of Bauhaus’s “Who Killed Mr. Moonlight?” “Somewhere” brings together all of the best elements of The Danse Society’s style and includes a lovely, haunting melody.

For completists, Seduction: The Society Collection is essential. Those who are looking for the roots of the current resurgence in popularity of post-punk, proto-Goth music will certainly be thrilled with this album.

Ripped from a CD to MP3 @ 320kbps

The Danse Society; Seduction: The Society Collection

1.     Clock
2.     Continent
3.     These Frayed Edges
4.     We’re So Happy
5.     Woman’s Own
6.     Belief
7.     Ambition
8.     Godsend
9.     My Heart
10. Falling Apart
11.  Danse / Move
12. In Heaven (Everything Is Fine)
13. Somewhere
14. Hide


  1. loved this lot until they signed to arista
    i have a very clear memory of peel playing "somewhere"
    got this already but keep up the good work

  2. It's been a looong time since i heard this album last time...Many Thanks...
    Great Blog!!!

  3. This comment has been removed by the author.