Themes From Great Cities

It might have come to your attention that I'm not a regular poster of love and understanding, which you will just have to get used to. I will however, have bursts of creativity where I move completely randomly from post to post with no rhyme or reason. I have recently posted a few singles (7 & 12”) and the odd bootleg which have been received very well by all who visit. More of the same will continue as you, dear readers, seem to be enjoying them.

Some of the rips are my own, but many more are from other blogs and I’m just sharing the wealth. If other bloggers out there wish to share the rips from my posts, please as I do, host them yourself. To combat this, the FLAC files that are over 6 months old will be replaced with MP3 files.

Finally I am happy to re-up old posts where the link has expired. Please comment in the relevant posts comments box.



A devastating début and one of the finest albums, not only of the punk era, but of the late 1970s as a whole. 

Crossing the Red Sea With The Adverts was the summation of a year's worth of gigging, honing a repertoire that (jagged, jarring, and frequently underplayed though it was) nevertheless bristled with hits, both commercial and cultural. "No Time to Be 21," "One Chord Wonders," and "Bored Teenagers" were already established among the most potent rallying cries of the entire new wave, catch phrases for a generation that had no time for anthems; "Bombsite Boy," "Safety in Numbers," and "Great British Mistake" offered salvation to the movement's disaffected hordes; and the whole thing was cut with such numbingly widescreen energy that, even with the volume turned down, it still shakes the foundations.

The band's original vision saw a rerecording of "Gary Gilmore's Eyes," a Top 20 hit during summer 1977, included on the album, being dropped (for space considerations) at the last minute. It's one of the few punk songs that truly deserved to be called a classic. Although excluded from the initial release of the album, the mistake is corrected by this 2002 re-release of the album and it's included no less than three times. Talk about over compensating.

As well as the three versions of 'Gary Gilmore's Eyes' this re-release throws in a pile of additional extras including live tracks and some songs that weren't included on the original album. Crossing The Red Sea With The Adverts, with the addition of the mysteriously excluded 'Gary Gilmore's Eyes', stands up well on its own, the added extras merely seal the deal.

It's time to put away your dubstep albums and your witch house white labels and get an infusion of old school punk into your veins courtesy of the Adverts.

Taken from the 2002 DevilsOwn 2 CD Reissue to MP3 @ 320kbps

Track List
Disc 1
1.      One Chord Wonders
2.      Bored Teenagers
3.      New Church
4.      On The Roof
5.      New Boys
6.      Gary Gilmore’s Eyes
7.      Bombsite Boy
8.      No Time To Be 21
9.      Safety In Numbers
10.  New Day Dawns
11.  Drowning Men
12.  On Wheels
13.  Great British Mistake

Disc 2
1.      One Chord Wonders
2.      Quickstep
3.      Gary Gilmore’s Eyes
4.      Bored Teenagers
5.      Safety In Numbers
6.      We Who Wait
7.      On Wheels
8.      New Boys
9.      New Church
10.  Gary Gilmore’s Eyes
11.  Drowning Men
12.  No Time To Be 21

Track 1-5 original album tracks
Track 6 bonus track
Track 7-9 original album tracks
Track 10 bonus track
Track 12-13 original album tracks
Track 14-19 bonus tracks (single versions and b-sides)
Track 20-25 bonus tracks (live)


  1. -= Faith Healer =-27 August 2015 at 20:29

    nothing better than oldschool punk!!! Thank you so much for the reissue!

    1. Thank you for taking the time to comment, again, Faith Healer. Makes everything seem a little more worthwhile

  2. thanks for this.great stuff as always.