Themes From Great Cities

It might have come to your attention that I'm not a regular poster of love and understanding, which you will just have to get used to. I will however, have bursts of creativity where I move completely randomly from post to post with no rhyme or reason. I have recently posted a few singles (7 & 12”) and the odd bootleg which have been received very well by all who visit. More of the same will continue as you, dear readers, seem to be enjoying them.

Some of the rips are my own, but many more are from other blogs and I’m just sharing the wealth. If other bloggers out there wish to share the rips from my posts, please as I do, host them yourself. To combat this, the FLAC files that are over 6 months old will be replaced with MP3 files.

Finally I am happy to re-up old posts where the link has expired. Please comment in the relevant posts comments box.



FIRE! FIRE! FIRE! To translate a line from their early ”Incubus Sucubus” single, is what a first impression of Xmal Deutschland is full of. A physical, rhythmic flirtation with the colossal that captured a raw energy... a resonance that throbbed and shuddered with an acute, refreshing sense of being alive.
Fetisch”, the CD, harnesses enough of that resonance to be a vital release, one of the few records that actually has some semblance of purpose, meaning and belonging in the present day. The 'mystery' which many reviews have referred to stretches further than the simple exotica of their being foreign.  Thankfully some 'mysteries' are best left unsolved and there is then a temptation to continue the savouring of the subject from a safe distance. But it is that allure again, that having to know which draws one on.
While most German post-punk and new wave bands of the early 80’s explored Atavism and Dadaism, Xmal Deutschland applied the dogma of German expressionism in dark-punk. Thus “Fetisch” is a mixture of gothic-rock, noise-rock, and electronic-rock; it is heavy, relentless, expressionistic and austere.  In the middle of all this pandemonium, only the lyricism of "Boomerang" provides the listener with temporary relief.

Taken from the CD reissue of the début album with the 12” single Qual as bonus tracks

Track List
1.       Qual
2.       Geheimnis
3.       Young Man
4.       In der Nacht
5.       Orient
6.       Hand In Hand
7.       Kaempfen
8.       Danthem
9.       Boomerang
10.   Stummes Kind
11.   Qual (12” Mix)
12.   Zeit
13.   Sehnsucht

To complete the set of early Xmal Deutschland I have included the two Zickzack singles

Schwarze Welt 7”

Track List
1.       Schwarze Welt
2.       Die Wolken
3.       Großstadtindianer

Incubus Sucubus 12”

Track List
1.       Incubus Sucubus
2.       Zu Jung Zu Alt
3.       Blut Ist Liebe

No comments:

Post a Comment